Making the Most of Summer

Aaaah, sweet summertime… Normally, I would be sleeping as much as possible, binge-watching Grey’s Anatomy on Netflix, and enjoying a few books while sunbathing (wearing SPF 30 broad spectrum sunscreen, of course 😉 ) by the pool.  However, since this is my very last summer break, I want to make the most of it and spend my time with intent rather than simply channel my inner sloth.  Here’s how I am making the most of my time this summer:

Come up with a plan.  You know how the saying goes: If you fail to plan, you plan to fail. Maybe you aren’t the type of person who writes it all down in a planner/calendar or makes lists on their phone (I am 100% that type, haha!), but at least come up with solid ideas of what you want to do and a general timeline of when you want to do them. Otherwise, you may end up with a summer full of regrets rather than a summer full of memories!

Try something new. A large part of growing as a person is stepping outside of your comfort zone and trying new things. It doesn’t have to be something extravagant: hike in a different park, have date night or girls’ night at a new restaurant, pretend to be a tourist in your own city, drive a different way home, get a free app on your phone and learn a new language.  Every day, dare yourself to do something new, no matter how big or how small.

Reunite with friends.  This one is so important to me. As I adjust to adulthood, I am realizing how difficult it is to maintain old friendships.  Long distances and differing schedules make it almost impossible to see each other, but I plan on spending some weekends this summer to see my college friends.  I won’t be able to see them all, but it will be much better than my occasional “I miss you, and I have been thinking about you!” text.

Do work. As another popular saying goes, dreams don’t work unless you do. Summer is a great time for relaxing, but it’s also a wonderful time to put in some work towards your goals. For myself, this includes obtaining more clinical experience, reading First Aid (the holy grail of boards exam review books), trying to keep some anatomical knowledge fresh in my brain, and getting the groundwork done for a future research project of mine.  Figure out at least one thing you can do to further your work goals this summer.

Challenge yourself.  Did you have a personal goal you wanted to achieve this year, but haven’t made much progress with yet? Summer is the perfect time to work towards that goal. I (re)started my fitness journey in April, and want to continue exercising and eating healthily. This summer, I want to learn how to push myself through my mental limits during workouts, and expand my cooking repertoire for easy/tasty meal prep.

Relax.  Sleep well. Eat your favorite foods. Binge watch that show you’ve been dying to see. Nap in the sunshine by the pool or beach. Not every minute of your time has to be planned or productive. Heck, I say relaxing IS productive because we need take time to recharge our minds and bodies. Summers are meant to be enjoyed!

 

Readers: How will you be spending your summer? If you are working all summer, how will you spend your weekends/free time?

 

 

 

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

